A festive assortment

Sunday morning. A warm sun and the sounds of the Farmers Markets drifting on the breeze.

Sometimes I see patterns in the trash that gets washed up or washed down or chucked over the bridge but at other times the appearance of objects seems completely arbitrary. Today was an arbitrary day, so here’s a quick selection.

The first thing that caught my eye was this dead fish, a baby yellow-fin tuna (though possibly not; fish aren’t my strong point). It was about ten feet away from the high tide mark so I expect that it was caught by a heron, cormorant or egret but dropped before it could be returned to the hungry mouths back at the nest.

The next thing was hard to miss, which is the very reason for it’s existence. It is, I think, one of those baubles that get threaded onto power lines so that workmen and low-flying aircraft don’t go chopping or crashing into the cable. Quite how it got here is a mystery, but that banal statement could apply to absolutely every manmade object in the creek.

Single trainer, left foot, size nine. Non-smoker, GSOH, seeks partner.

This palm frond made me think of a canoe. I wonder if some kids had tried to make it seaworthy and float it down the beck? I hope so; it’s the kind of thing I would have wasted an entire afternoon doing when I was twelve.

As a postscript to the Resistance is useless I post, I noticed this green scooter in the litter-trap by Islington School.

I first came across it in November, leaning casually against the banking in the stretch of creek between Hamilton North Public School and the showgrounds.

There were quite a few Ironlak cans around and so I went down to the railway bridge to see what was new. This tag, Messy, is one I haven’t come across before. It made me wonder about the etiquette of putting up a huge tag. Do you deliberately work over the tags of people whose work you don’t like? Or is it just a case of plonking it up wherever?

The last thing I found as I was working my way back towards Chatham Road was this plastic goose. Is it meant to be a toy, part of a farmyard set? I hope not, it looks bloody terrifying and would have scared the living daylights out of me when I was a nipper.

2 Responses to A festive assortment

  1. David says:

    yo bro umust have some good graffiti pics from these drains id like to have a look sometime

    • Mark MacLean says:

      You know what, David: I have to disappoint you. Sure, I’ve got graffiti pics from the drain but to be honest they’re not all that inspiring. I think that the drain’s probably a place where people start their street art careers: there are plenty of big flat surfaces down there and plenty of escape options if you get disturbed. But it also means that most of the stuff is, frankly, pretty ordinary: learner tags by guys still on the graffiti P plates. That Messy tag stood out because it was a step up from what I’d been seeing under the railway bridge.

Leave a Reply

