Boo!

Spring is definitely not yet in the air. I was thinking this as I walked Jambo down the creek and noticed this plastic roadworks pole bobbing down the beck, washed hither from whence I know not.

IMG_1363

What I do know was that it was cold and wet and slippery and generally a bit miserable.

But there are still folk out and about. I was rather startled to meet two lads emerging from the tributary tunnel next to Chatham Road bridge, the one you see beneath Richardson Park. They were wearing gumboots and had flashlights and had, amazingly, tunnelled their way from Merewether High School.

Yesterday I bumped into another pair of explorers who told me all about the old fuel depot, which has apparently been abandoned. The owners of this site were, right up until the end, carefully maintaining the holders and the buildings and the grounds and so to hear that they were no longer there was a complete surprise to me. I felt like the Turks must have felt when they woke up and realised the Anzacs had slipped away in the night.

But, like Nature, youth culture abhors a vacuum. It there’s empty space it must be filled. They sent me a couple of pictures of the depot, and of the recently re-fenced gasworks. I have absolutely no idea what this dummy’s arm signifies. I mean … huh?

IMG_1382

The old naphtha holder was, they told me, getting a fresh lick of paint. Approaching from the south, they smelt the fumes of aerosol cans as a crew of hardy graffitismos plied their decorative trade.

Boo!

Poor things, they nearly had heart attacks, but they were good enough to let my contacts reel off a few shots for posterity.

IMG_1384

Note the cut-off ladder to stop scallywags climbing the holders. Apparently they’ve done the same thing in the fuel depot.

IMG_1386

Such a shame. Seriously, I’d pay good money to go up one of those and look out over Hamilton!

3 Responses to Boo!

  1. rebec says:

    Lads can wander the drains, chaps with dogs can wander the drains.
    I had to walk home from Georgetown to Tighes Hill, from an appointment, recently and I gave a moment’s thought to walking beside the drains.” I might meet Mark”, I thought,” and say hello”.
    But then I realised: an eighty year old female, her broken hand in plaster, walking beside the drains, someone would surely ring welfare agencies and interfere.
    Not fair.
    At least I was able to take a short cut through the TAFE.

    • Mark MacLean says:

      rebec: I’m both heartened and saddened by your post. I’m saddened that, you’re right, some snoopy do-gooder would probably have rung DOCS and had you institutionalised if they’d seen you ducking under the Chinchen Street bridges.

      But I’m also hugely heartened, and inspired, by your toughness, agility, guile and willingness to have a pop at the world. I would love to meet you down the the drain one day. I had a word with Jambo and he’s up for it too.

      MM

Leave a Reply

