Stocktake clearance

Everything must go! Well, not quite. Mostly  I write, using photos to illustrate what I’m thinking about. But blogging has changed that process a bit and I often have photos that I’ve taken on my phone that end up influencing what I write about. It’s not always an immediate process and I often have pictures that sit around on my desktop for a while before they inspire a post. It can be the case that a theme emerges over time: I take a picture of a certain type of graffiti and over a few weeks I see it again and again; a type of litter starts to appear, or disappear; a view emerges, or a change in a view takes place.

But some photos just sit there, in the folder on my desktop called “Holding pen”. Well, it’s time to clear it out.

To start off, here’s a little fish being eaten by ants. Probably dropped by a heron. I often find dead fish or dead creatures but, after finding this little fishy, I didn’t find anything for ages. So there it sat, on its own, in the holding pen. Out it goes!

ants_eating_fish

This was almost emerging into a post about fag packets of the past, and being able to buy Woodbines and No. 6 and Silk Cut individually at the shop near my high school, but the it just didn’t happen. This happens quite often now I think about it.

ciggy_packets

Frangipani blossoms brown and decay so quickly that I was surprised to find this one in almost perfect condition a long way away from the nearest frangipani tree.

frangipani_blossom

This green plastic tube with Europcar written on it appeared one morning. And then another half dozen  straight after. From whence? And for what purpose do they exist? I do not know.

europcar_thingies

This building at the TAFE has “Block O” on the front, which kind of begs a post of some kind. And yet …

block_O

I would never have believed that Rock Star energy (+ guava) was available in a can. I’ve looked in shops and never seen Rock Star energy (+ guava). Am I looking in the wrong shops? Or am I simply not made of rock star material?

rock-star_energy

This one was going to be called “Seven girls”.

seven_women

I was coming home from a friend’s 50th birthday. I was wearing a tuxedo, it was 3.10 am, I took a short cut down the creek and I came across this wheelchair underneath the Griffiths Road bridge. Where to begin? It was so rich in possibilities that I think I froze.

wheelchair1

It was still there the next morning, when I went to check. But then, not long after the farmers’ market, it disappeared. Was it a farmer’s wheelchair? Did a farmer take it? Sell it?

wheelchair2

Ah, dead pigeon squabs. So many. Nature is so fecund.

dead_squab

There’s a big new gas tank in the ELGAS site. You can see it here, peeping over the fence. Now, maybe it’s just me but I couldn’t help but think of …

keith_flint_gastank

Keith Flint of the Prodigy!

keith_flint_himself

OUT THEY GO!

Leave a Reply

