Go green!

One of the great things about the green revolution is the improved and socially responsible quality of the rubbish that we now throw away. So much better than the olden days!

It was hot today and so I didn’t go down the creek till later on. The cool front of the cool front was just beginning to push through, a breeze that raced down the creek making the leaves and chip packets and other rubbish scratch and skitter along the concrete. Among the trash getting caught up against the sill was this “bio-cup”.

Bio cup

The idea of taking a “paper” cup, putting a green leaf on its side and rebranding it as a “bio” cup makes my brain numb and gives me a splitting I-hate-the-modern-world-and-all-it-stands-for headache. However, I mightn’t have thought too hard about the whole paper/bio-cup issue until, barely fifteen feet later, I came across two pieces of air-filled plastic that claimed somehow to be packaging of an environmentally friendly nature, perhaps because they too had the word “bio” printed on them.

Environmental rubbish

“Reduce Reuse Recycle” is the optimistic message on the blue one.

I’m not sure how the following fits in with the theme but this deflated Macca’s balloon caught my eye, and my ire, as well.

Macca's frappe balloon

What is a frappé? And what are Maccas doing selling it/them? Maybe I’m just annoyed because I’m not very good at culinary terminology. One of the questions at trivia night at the Gateway last Thursday was “What does fricassee mean?” We had multiple choice (fried, stewed or boiled) and we still got it wrong. Bah!

And here’s a ball, simply because I haven’t posted “Round things” for a while. The yellow thing behind it’s a choko.

Plastic softball

And here’s a rat with its guts eaten out, because I haven’t posted anything under “Drowned things” for a while either. And because I wouldn’t mind the answer to the question “What kind of satanic monster eats the guts of a rat?!”

Gutless rat

One Response to Go green!

  1. Richard says:

    As the founder of BioPak it is dissapointing to see a BioCup as litter in the environment. On the positive side…at least it will biodegrade in a relatively short period of time. FYI – BioCups are not regular paper cups. Regular paper cups are lined with plastic that takes hundreds of years to biodegrade, BioCups are made from paper sourced from managed plantations and are coated with a plant based BioPlastic that is compostable. My goal is to raise awareness about the impact our choices have on the environment. Its not a great choice to drink your coffee from a disposable cup, if you have the time I encourgae you to sit down, relax and enjoy your coffee from a reusable cup.

Leave a Reply

